Time is … (2)

If you have been following me on this topic, read on… this is the continuation of my  previous entry about Time 🙂

So, where have all the flowers gone to?

I think it’s like this:  the older we are, the wiser we become, the better we are in making decisions in life, and the more skillful we are in handling things.  However, this doesn’t seem to be happening to me.  Instead, I feel like I’m doing the reverse. Instead of getting better, I’m becoming lousier now that I have a family and children to care for. This often leaves me in deep thoughts.  Is this a symptom that most people, women especially, suffer when they start having families of their own?  Or is it just me who feel this way?  Most of the time nowadays, I just feel like I was beaten by time.

A recollection of what one of my professors during my university years said is vivid, ” We can never win against time, the only thing that we can do is to prioritize.”    In order to prioritize, we must know what priority means.  Stephen Covey, author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People (one of my favorite books from my favorite author) explained priority, “Keep in mind that you are always saying ‘no’ to something.  If it isn’t to the apparent, urgent things in your life, it is probably to the most fundamental, highly important things.  Even when the urgent is good, the good can keep you from your best, keep you from your unique contribution, if you let it.”

And Dwight Eisenhower had said something about “time” too, “The older I get, the more wisdom I gain in the ancient rule of taking first things first.  A process which often reduces the most complex human problem to a manageable proportion.

“A clever man should handle his interests so that each will fall in suitable order of their value.  Our greediness often brings trouble to this order, and makes us pursue so many things at the same time, that while we attend to the trifling too eagerly, we miss the great,” said Francois De La Rochefoucauld, a 17th century French classical writer.

First Things First by Stephen Covey, the definite work on time management explains that most people are driven by the concept of urgency.  But to really effect positive changes in our lives, we need to reorganize the way we spend our time; based on the concept of importance – not urgency.

This post will be continued; something cropped up which requires my urgent attention!

Stay tuned – you may just find the ending of this little story of mine oh-this-is-familiar-i’m-in-the-same- situation 🙂

Leave a Reply

